FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                      JUNE 21, 2012



Mayfield named Indiana Clerk of the Year


Martinsville- Morgan County Clerk, Peggy Mayfield, was awarded the Marlene Sutton Clerk of the Year award during the annual statewide Clerks’ conference held June 12-14 in French Lick, Indiana.


The Marlene Sutton Clerk of the Year Award is named after a former Johnson County Clerk who was recognized as a community leader and volunteer and was tragically killed in a car wreck while returning from a conference. The award is presented to a Clerk whose dedicated service to their county and other Clerks throughout the state extends beyond the call of duty.  Mayfield received all but one nomination.


“I am honored to be recognized by my peers.  It was totally unexpected—I’m only in my sixth year as Clerk.  Many of my mentors received this award; Clerks that I really looked up to and relied upon.  Now it’s my turn to offer guidance to other Clerks.  I’m proud that my fellow Clerks have the confidence in me as legislative chairman of the Clerks’ association to represent their concerns and those of the public we serve.”


In addition to being the Morgan County clerk, Mayfield is also the Republican candidate for state representative in District 60.